| BOOK REVIEW | UNTIL I DIE BY AMY PLUM

until I dieUntil I Die
Author : Amy Plum Series : Revenants
Genre : Science Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Young Adult
Publication : April 2013 by HarperTeen

This is the sequel to Die For Me. This review contains spoilers if you haven’t read the first book.

Goodreads’ synopsis : Kate and Vincent have overcome the odds and at last they are together in Paris, the city of love. Only, there isn’t exactly a happily ever after with the revenants. Vincent promises to do whatever it takes to lead a normal life with Kate. But will their happiness come at too high a price? If he doesn’t sacrifice himself to save others, innocent people will die. When a new and surprising enemy reveals itself, Kate realizes that even more may be at stake—and that Vincent’s immortality is in jeopardy.

In this book, we’ve got to meet new characters : Violette and Arthur. They are 2 older revenants and considered experts in the matter of Numa.
Since Katy has slayed their leader, the Numa are being invisible. The Revenants think they are preparing something really big.
The other main topic is the problem of mortality between Katy and Vincent.
Vincent is keeping his attempts secret because he doesn’t want to scare katy. On her side, she decides to dig up in some books, doing some researches on her own. She manages to find a testimony of someone who has lived in Paris, centuries ago. She also manages to find its descendants. She also kept it secret but is forced to tell Jules at some point.

The end of the the book was rather violent, while there was very little action in this sequel. It doesn’t mean I didn’t like this one, on the contrary. We got to learn a lot of things, but action wise, there weren’t that many fights against the Numa. But that end ! It was such a cliffhanger !!!

Characters :
– Kate is one badass female character in this book. She learnt to fend for herself and is pretty gifted. She is so much more stronger than in the first book. She is so determined to find out a solution which won’t destroy Vincent’s health.
– Vincent is becoming weaker because he tries the Dark Way in order to resist his urge to die.
– Arthur .. I knew he couldn’t be that bad.
– Jules seems to be in love with Kate. He is overprotective and really cute with her.

Overall I really liked this sequel ! And with that ending I can’t to find out how this story will end !

And I’ve got THIS,” I pulled out the signum and held it up for him to see, “that says I’m kindred. And I’ve got THIS,” I pointed at my head, “that says I’m as smart as you. And I have THIS,” I held up my middle finger, “that says go to hell, you immortal bigot.”
And with that I spun around and stomped out the door, filing the expression on Arthur’s face in a mental folder labeled “Kate’s Proudest Moments”.

4 stars

Leave a Reply

