| BOOK REVIEW | UGLY PEOPLE BEAUTIFUL HEARTS

ugly people beautiful heartsUgly People Beautiful Hearts
Author : Marlen Komar
Genres : Poetry, contemporary
Publication : March 2015

I was sent this e book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much Marlen ! 

Goodreads’ synopsis : Ugly People Beautiful Hearts is a poetry book with over 70 poems that explores loneliness, quiet sadness, bursts of happiness, and contentment over the fact that everything you have, will eventually go okay. But that’s sort of beautiful in its own right.

It has verses moving between the feelings of loving someone, feeling loss, trusting the night sky, losing your light, resolving that hurt is beautiful, and finding compassion in a stranger’s smile.

I really enjoyed this poetry book.
I wasn’t expecting to enjoy poetry so much. When I think poetry I think Baudelaire or Verlaine. Gifted poets, but their poetry can sometimes be difficult to read, if you know what I mean. But this is different. It made me see poetry in a different light.
I really was in awe with her writing style. It’s about heartbreak, romance, life and daydreams. I connected a lot with her poetry. In fact, it’s really to connect with her work : if you’ve loved someone than lost him, felt your heart shattered then her poems will sound familiar to you. For some poems, it felt like she has written my own thoughts; it’s really powerful. It’s beautifully written, intricate and delicate.
Each word is chosen carefully, enlightening the feelings felt by the narrator or the reader.

I wanted to savor those poems so I read a few every day. It appears to me as the best way to truly appreciate them.

here is a list of my favorites :
– Fix your holes
– Don’t. Do
– Come, quick
– Bravery found underneath a street lamp
– A rather cold tuesday afternoon
– It won’t be me
– Watching the sky fall (asleep)
– To : you

and this is one of my top 3 favorites :

It won’t be me

What if the constellations are actually fracture in the night sky, thin silvery veins racing across a glass holding back bruising shadows; eddies of history and rust. An atlas of- not roads and maps- but legends, feverish prayers, quiet poetry. Cast off hopes and dead devotions. What if it only took one person to throw a rock against the glass to shatter it and open us to never.

The question is : who of us is gentle enough to do it ?

4 stars

Leave a Reply

