| BOOK REVIEW | THE RISE OF NINE BY PITTACUS LORE

the rise of nineThe Rise Of Nine
Author : Pittacus Lore
Series : Lorien Legacies
Genres : Young Adult, Science Fiction
Publication : August 2012 by Harper

The Rise of Nine is the third book in the Lorien Legacies series. This review will spoil you if you haven’t read the previous books.

Goodreads’ synopsis : Until the day I met John Smith, Number Four, I’d been on the run alone, hiding and fighting to stay alive.

Together, we are much more powerful. But it could only last so long before we had to separate to find the others. . . .

I went to Spain to find Seven, and I found even more, including a tenth member of the Garde who escaped from Lorien alive. Ella is younger than the rest of us, but just as brave. Now we’re looking for the others—including John.

But so are they.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They caught me in New York—but I escaped.
I am Number Six.
They want to finish what they started.

But they’ll have to fight us first.

polka dots bar small

A wise man once told me that only by leaving someone good can you meet someone better.

In this book, Four and Nine are obviously teaming up and kind of trying to find a way to free Sam and to find the others members of the Garde.
Meanwhile, Six, Marina and Ella are trying to find eight, helped by Crayton.
We also learn some major things. First, it’s about Sarah. It was something I suspected.
Moreover, Setrakus Râ is an imminent threat.
Things get more and more complicated because they’re trying to avoid the Mogadorians and the US government.

Characters :
– John is still a little too whiny, in my opinion. But he also knows what he wants. He is such a loyal friend.
– Nine is the reckless one. I think he will be a rather important character in the next books.
– Six is always the badass one. I really like her character !
– Marina is a little weak but doing her best to help her comrades.
– Ella is so adorable. I think she’s the cute character, in their team.
– Eight is a really interesting character. I loved how he managed to stay hidden and worshiped.

I really like the fact that they all team up in the end of the book. Finally. I think the next book will be full of badass moments, and so action packed.
This one was already a page turner, you barely have the time to take a deep breath that another struggle, another battle is here. But there are funny moments too and I really enjoyed it !

I didn’t like the changes of POV. Sometimes I wasn’t able to tell who was talking, Six or Marina. That bothered me a lot.
I wish we could have read about Sam, too. We don’t know a single thing about how he is. Is he still alive, or already dead ?

Anyway I really enjoyed this book and I can’t wait to buy the next one !

4 starspolka dots bar smallABOUT THE AUTHOR

PITTACUS LORE
Pittacus Lore is the collection pseudonym of James Frey and Jobie Hughes.

Leave a Reply

