| BOOK REVIEW | BRANDED BY ABI KETNER & MISSY KALICICKI

BrandedBranded
Authors : Abi Ketner & Missy KalicickiSeries : Sinners
Genres : Science Fiction, dystopia, New Adult
Publication : June 2014 by Month9Books

Goodreads’ synopsis : Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society.

To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins. Sinners are forced to live a less than human existence in deplorable conditions, under the watchful eye of guards who are ready to kill anyone who steps out of line.

Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home.

Constant darkness.

Brutal and savage violence.

Excruciating pain.

Every day is a fight for survival.

But I won’t let them win. I will not die in the Hole.

I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

polka dots bar small

I have to warn you guys ! I wrote this review on goodreads last year, when I read this book. I’m currently reading its sequel so I wanted to post it, but it’s not as developed as the reviews I’m writing now.

You can overcome anything …short of death.

This is such a great book ! I read it really quickly ! It’s really a page turner. It’s fast paced, and you really want to know what will happen next.
It’s a dystopian story, but not something that we have read before. The idea to brand sinners is such an original one !


The characters are really great.
Lexi is such a nice character, not ready to give up on life, willing to see the beauty of it where everything is chaos, poverty and horror. She is really strong minded, a true fighter.
Cole is not the cold hearted soldier he wants the world to see. He wants to do the right thing, which is difficult because in order to achieve it, he must disobey orders. Not a nice situation.
Sutton is the paternal figure that Lexi needs so much in her life. Her stepfather was far from being lovely.

The end of the book nearly killed me. You cannot guess what’s gonna happen in the end. This is so good, really !

The writing is easy to read, I couldn’t let the book down even to go to sleep.
Can’t wait to hear about the second one !

5 stars

polka dots bar smallAbout the authors

abi ketnerAbi Ketner Is a registered nurse with a passion for novels, the beaches of St. John, and her Philadelphia Phillies. A talented singer, Abi loves to go running and spend lots of time with her family. She currently resides in Lancaster, Pennsylvania with her husband, triplet daughters and two very spoiled dogs.


Missy kalicickiMissy Kalicicki has her degree in History from Millersville University. She’s enjoyed working in several different fields from alternative fuels to healthcare. She’s happily married with two rambunctious boys and two dogs, Buckwheat and Spanky. Her passions include writing, lifting, kickboxing, traveling, and trying new things. She remains an avid Cleveland sports fan.

4 thoughts on “| BOOK REVIEW | BRANDED BY ABI KETNER & MISSY KALICICKI

  1. I love the sound of the seven deadly sins being incorporated into a dystopia world! The book sounds absolutely riveting, fantastic review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

