Author : Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series : Covenant
Genres : Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal Romance
Publication : April 4th 2013 by Spencer Hill Press

This is the fourth book in the Covenant series. This review will spoil you if you haven’t read the previous books.

Goodreads’ synopsis : Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

polka dots bar small

It starts where the novella Elixir ended.
Evil Alex manages to escape. Somehow she manages to break the bond. She then realizes how much has changed : cities are destroyed, mundanes killed… they’re at war. A war against Seth, Lucian and an unknown god.

And that was the thing about truths and secrets. Sometimes the truth didn’t need to be known. The lie was healthier than the truth and, while some secrets could set people free, other secrets could destroy them.

The first part of the book is less action packed, in my opinion. It doesn’t mean I found it less interesting, not at all. There’s a lot of explanations that helps us to understand the plot a little more. It’s more intricate than I thought to be honest !
We get to learn more about Alex’s father, about what her destiny, and about why all of this is happening. Everything becomes clearer.
There are epic journeys, too. One to the underworld and one to another location. Journeys that will change them forever. In this installment, they truly become a posse. And a badass one !
I still got some Percy Jackson’s vibes in this one, that was funny. Seeing the gods mingling with the Pures and Half-bloods was something I liked to read about.

The second part of the book was action packed. A lot happened and it was hard to put it down. And what plot twist ! I wasn’t expecting this at all. The ending is full of promises for the next and final book, which is Sentinel.

Even though the atmosphere is darker than in the previous books, the funny comments, witty chats and banters are still here !

Everybody, no matter what is happening around them, deserves the kind of love that man feels for you.

Characters :
– Alex went through a lot, in this book. She learns what her destiny will be and has to face a lot, both physically and emotionally. She is becoming way more mature. There’s a lot of character’s development here and that was really nice to read about. Obviously she is still this kick ass, smartass and badass young woman (even more than in the previous books hahaha). Moreover, Apollo is taking care of her whenever he can.
– Aiden is changed by what he had to do : put her on the elixir. He is consumed by guilt. He has a hard time forgiving himself.
– Lea’s changing too. Her relationship with Alex is getting better and better.
– Deacon doesn’t want to be left behind. He wants to help, to learn how to fight.
– Seth isn’t really present in this book. He seems to change.
– Apollo is also an interesting character. He brings the comic relief while popping out of nowhere and scaring the hell out of the characters !

Pigs had just officially sprouted wings and were flying alongside airplanes.

Overall I really enjoyed this book ! I really like this series so far ! I’ve already started Sentinel and I can say that it is as good as the previous books !

5 stars

polka dots bar small

About the author

Jennifer L. Armentrout# 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout Lives in West Virginia.

All the rumors you heard about her state aren’t true.

Well, mostly. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don’t Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion), and new YA paranormal series with Harlequin Teen.

Jennifer also writes New Adult and Adult romance under the pen name J. Lynn. The Gamble Brothers Series (Tempting the Best Man/Tempting the Player) and Wait for You. Under her pen name, she is published with Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s