Rebel SpringRebel Spring
Author : Morgan Rhodes
Series : Falling Kingdoms
Genres : Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, Young Adult
Publication : November 27th 2013 by Razorbill

This book is the second book in the Falling Kingdoms series. This review will spoil you if you haven’t read the first one.

Goodreads’ synopsis : The road to power… is paved with blood and magic.

Cleo is now a prisoner in her own palace, forced to be an ambassador for Mytica as the evil King Gaius lies to her people.
Magnus stands to eventually inherit the new kingdom but is still obsessed with his feelings for his adopted sister, Lucia.
Lucia is haunted by the outcome of the breathtaking display of magic that allowed her father to capture the kingdoms.
Jonas watched at the palace gates a troop of rebels behind him, waiting for him to tell them how he plans to overtake King Gaius.

After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over…

At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.

When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.

polka dots bar small

The first book was great, but this one is even better ! It’s even more action-packed !

Cleo is now held prisoner in her own castle. Jonas is leading the rebellion. He gets to meet Lysandra who is a rebel who wants to get revenge.
Magnus is trying his best to please his father and is desperate because Lucia isn’t waking up.

There are so many things going on in this sequel. Murders, arranged marriage, betrayal…

But even the coldest hate can shift into something warmer if given enough time, just as an ugly caterpillar can turn into a beautiful butterfly.

One of the thing I enjoyed the most is the characters’ development.
First, Cleo. She is now way more stronger. She is acting like a queen, rather than a spoiled princess. She will do whatever it takes to take back her throne. She has lost so much and yet she isn’t ready to give up. Never.

Jonas is trying his best to be a good leader. And he is. He is able to see the things clearly, except when it comes to Cleo. Somehow his hate turned into something else, something he wouldn’t have thought possible.

Magnus is probably the character who has the most important development. At the beginning of Rebel Spring, he is trying his best to be as heartless as his father. he is trying to convince himself that he is the king Gaius’ heir in every way.
It’s probably his way to punish himself for “losing” Lucia.
I really appreciate him, there’s more depth to his character that is appealing.

Lucia is acting weird. Like a tiny bird sometimes turning into a furious and ferocious dragon. From innocent to completely mad.
Hopefully we’ll learn and read more about her in the next book.

I also really enjoyed the Watchers’ POV. There are so many mysteries around these people !
I was totally taken by surprise by the plot twist about Alexius‘ loyalty. I wasn’t expecting this at all !

Prince Ashur is also a character I’m eager to read more about. His motives are so mysterious.

Sometimes the smallest glimmer of inner strength is all that we have to help us press forward through the darkness.

I still think that the multiple POV brings something important to this story. We get to read their inner thoughts, which adds something to this intricate story.

I found the last part of the book so addictive ! It was so difficult to put the book down ! This book (and thus this series) is totally worth the hype !

5 stars


polka dots bar small

About the author

Morgan RhodesMorgan Rhodes lives in Ontario, Canada. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess — the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, reality TV, and is an extremely picky, yet voracious reader of all kinds of books. Under another pen name, she’s a national bestselling author of many paranormal novels. Falling Kingdoms is her first high fantasy.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s