| ON SCREEN | SHADOWHUNTERS – RISE UP

Shadowhunters 2

 

Hello everyone ! How was your week end ? Mine was calm, this time ! Anyway, I’m here to talk about the ninth episode of Shadowhunters, which is called Rise up.

In my opinion this is the episode that totally separates the books and the TV show. So many things that happened in this book were not okay with the spirit of the TMI series, in my opinion.

First, there’s the rebellion against the Clave. Izzy and Jace teaming up against their institute in order to free Meliorn. The way Lydia acted reminded me of the Inquisitor in City Of Ashes. But in the book the “rebellion” has for aim to free Jace, not a faery. Moreover, what Lydia is doing is somehow breaking the Accords, in my opinion.

The second thing that bothered me was the Alec/ Jace fight. I mean WHAT THE HELL. You cannot make these two fight, they’re parabatai for God’s sake ! It’s against the meaning of their bond ! Also, the whole “Jace knows about Alec’s feelings” isn’t the best idea they ever had. In the book, Jace doesn’t know about it (or maybe I forgot something? that’s possible) and that’s for the best. Now it changes the whole dynamic to their duo.

The last thing I want to talk about is Simon and Clary who are taking refuge at the Hôtel Dumort. Which leads to Simon swearing allegiance to Raphael…  I don’t know how I feel about it. This will also change a lot of things to the story line.

Anyway, that being said, I found this episode quite good. The Malec scenes broke my heart and made me laugh at the same time.
David Castro and Alberto Rosende’s acting are really great in this episode.

So yeah, somehow I enjoy the show, it’s just that from now on, I’ll have to think about it as a parallel story to the books’ one.
Also, I’m curious to see if the TV show will be renewed.

What did you think ? Did you enjoy it ?

 

2 thoughts on “| ON SCREEN | SHADOWHUNTERS – RISE UP

  1. The fight between Jace and Alec was by far my favourite scene of the episode. It was the first time we got to see some proper human emotion from Jace (other than that time early on in the season when Jace had a go at Alec).

    Looking forward to seeing how the relationship between Jace and Clary develops.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

