Gathering DarknessGathering Darkness
Author : Morgan Rhodes
Series : Falling Kingdoms
Genres : Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, Young Adult
Publication : December 9th 2014 by Razorbill

This is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series. This review will spoil you if you haven’t read the previous books.

Goodreads’ synopsis : Love, vengeance, and greed spark a deadly quest for magic in the third book of the Falling Kingdoms series

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred—the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic. . . .

THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic—all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in these dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica. . . . but the four element gods of the Kindred have other plans.

polka dots bar small

I really LOVE this series ! Gathering Darkness is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series. If you haven’t read the previous books, you’ll be spoiled.
The story keeps getting better and better ! New characters appear, side characters become more important, paths are crossing…

In the shadow my father has cast over my entire life, you are the only light I can see anymore. And, whatever the cost, I refuse to let that light be extinguished

Plot :

The plot is really intricate. There are so many plot twists you can’t see coming, and that’s great !
The writing style is really good ; Morgan Rhodes managed to create an incredible world. This book is filled with love, betrayal, friendship and a load of adventures !
I love how characters keep crossing paths. They keep bumping into each other.
I am reading these books back to back but I appreciate that the author manages to bring the reader up to speed on the previous books’ events.
Once again, the multiple POV is really well lead ! The changes are done smoothly !

One thing bothered me a little, it’s their quick changes of love interest. Don’t get me wrong, I love the romance parts and I have so many ships in this book haha!
But some of romance scenes didn’t make it for me. It’s a minor thing, though.

You don’t cry when someone pushes you down. You get up. You get up and you fight back. And pretty soon nobody’s going to shove you anymore because they’ll see it’s not worth it.

Characters :

One of the thing I really enjoy in this series is the characters’ development. It’s wonderfully well written ! All the characters have depth and hidden parts that I find interesting !

– Cleo has evolved so much. She is stubborn, she knows what she wants. She is fiercer, tougher, and has become a skilled liar.
She is a little lost when it comes to feelings, though. Which shows us how a good person she is.
– Nic is also a better version of himself. He is taking risks now. He is not a pampered boy anymore.
– Lucia has changed so much. She is darker, especially toward the end of the book. Cleo and Alexius are helping her somehow.
– Jonas is full of doubts. He thinks he has failed miserably. He doesn’t think he can be a decent leader anymore !
He makes mistakes, but he is learning from it.
– Magnus is a real enigma. He is cold, bitter, lonely but deep inside he has a kindness he is trying to hide. He saved Cleo and is slowly falling in love with her?
– Felix is another interesting character. I can’t wait to read more about him.
– Ashur is a good person. He tried to help to do what was good for the whole world. He is selfish, like his sister Amara.

there was only one person who could change your destiny, and that was yourself.

And that’s it ! I really loved this book !

5 stars

polka dots bar small

About the author

Morgan Rhodes

Morgan Rhodes lives in Ontario, Canada. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess — the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, reality TV, and is an extremely picky, yet voracious reader of all kinds of books. Under another pen name, she’s a national bestselling author of many paranormal novels. Falling Kingdoms is her first high fantasy.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s