| BOOK REVIEW | ME BEFORE YOU BY JOJO MOYES

Me Before YouMe Before You
Author : Jojo Moyes
Genres : contemporary, drama
Publication : 2012 by Penguin Books

Goodreads’ synopsis : Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

polka dots bar small

This book is everything. Seriously. There’s so much to say about it.
It’s well written, incredibly fast paced for a contemporary book, and so witty.
I was a storm of feelings while reading this. I laughed, snickered, smiled, and cried ugly tears.

You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.

Okay now is the moment to leave if you haven’t read this book. It’s better to get into it without knowing too much. Although I will try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible, I can’t tell all the things I want to without writing some spoilers.

This book made me ponder a lot. It’s not a regular contemporary read.
Will is trying to help Lou out of her comfort zone. She has stayed in this little town all her life, staying with a boyfriend she doesn’t really love and doing the first job available, just to earn money. She doesn’t really live, she survives.
And I relate to her. So much. Because I’m also stuck in a daily routine, even though I’m doing a job I like. I often go out to the same places, with the same people. I go running once a week, the same course.
The only differences noteworthy are that I’m single and that our reasons for our plain lives aren’t the same.
I also live at my parents’ because I only got a permanent contract 6 months ago, and it’s not even a full time job. (almost, though.)

Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.

I also relate a lot to Will. Of course, I am not a quadriplegic, but a few years ago, I had been suffering from a chronic pain. I was constantly under heavy painkillers, and still in pain. I know how it feels, in a lesser way, to feel diminished. I also planned a way to end this. The huge difference is I had a chance he didn’t have : a recovery. It lasted two years and a half, though.
So I totally understand his point of view. And yet I was so mad at him. He could have given her one more month !

So yeah, we should enjoy every moment, live our lives at the fullest because we don’t know what tomorrow will be made of.
Maybe this book touched me so much because I relate to the two main characters, I don’t know. But I found this book filled with important messages. It brought me so much. It also stomped on my heart repeatedly, breaking it into a million pieces.

I went into this book expecting a more adult TFIOS… How wrong I was !

I will never, ever regret the things I’ve done. Because most days, all you have are places in your memory that you can go to.

Characters :
– Lou is a young woman, full of life. Or so it seems. She isn’t afraid to wear bold clothes, different from what everyone’s wearing. She is also an eternal optimistic. She is bright, a beacon of light in Will’s dark world. But she has her own demons that she buried deep inside her.
– Will is a very complicated character. He is angry, angry with what is now his life. He can’t manage to accept it. He despises that everyone is taking decisions for him, even in attempts at making his life better.
– Nathan is an important character. He is supportive and understands that Will wants to control whatever he can in his life; and that’s not much.
– Treena is selfish. She wants what’s best for her and doesn’t care if it puts her family in a difficult situation. And yet, when Lou needs her the most, she’s here.
– Lou’s parents have an awful behavior toward her. They don’t support her at all. On the contrary, they always make fun of her, always diminishing her.
– Patrick from the very first moment I hated him. Egocentric, selfish, and superficial.

You are scored on my heart,Clark. You were from the first day you walked in,with your ridiculous clothes and your complete inability to ever hide a single thing you felt.

To put it in a nutshell, I LOVED this book. It changed my vision of life, as cheesy as it sounds. And now I’m super excited for the movie !!!

5 stars

polka dots bar small

About the author

 

Jojo MoyesJojo Moyes is a British novelist.

Moyes studied at Royal Holloway, University of London. She won a bursary financed by The Independent newspaper to study journalism at City University and subsequently worked for The Independent for 10 years. In 2001 she became a full time novelist.

Moyes’ novel Foreign Fruit won the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) Romantic Novel of the Year in 2004.

She is married to journalist Charles Arthur and has three children.

 

7 thoughts on “| BOOK REVIEW | ME BEFORE YOU BY JOJO MOYES

  1. How did you manage to keep this review spoiler free hahahaha!
    Wow, you could relate so much to this novel. It’s a grand thing when you can see yourself within the characters.
    I really loved how the message of this book wasn’t surrounding love but just about living and I’m glad in the end Lou realises this. I am also glad that she got away from Patrick (even though in the movie it’s Matthew Lewis so I wouldn’t do that for all the money in the world hahahaha).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think it’s totally spoiler free but I did my best haha
      And I thought the same about Patrick (and Matthew Lewis Hahaha)
      Yeah. I realized I said a lot about myself in this review but I found it “necessary” somehow

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such an incredible book! I’ve just finished it yesterday and I had tears in my eyes T_T Will’s decision was so sad .. and yeah he culd have given her one more month! And omg I’m so happy you recovered from the chronic pain >< It must be hard and you are really brave to not giving up! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘This book is everything. Seriously. There’s so much to say about it.
    It’s well written, incredibly fast paced for a contemporary book, and so witty.
    I was a storm of feelings while reading this. I laughed, snickered, smiled, and cried ugly tears’

    THIS RIGHT HERE!
    You summed up my entire reading experience so well, I am so glad you related to the novel and enjoyed it so much. Whenever I catch the trailer now I end up bursting into tears remembering the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

