| BOOK REVIEW | THIS SAVAGE SONG BY VICTORIA SCHWAB

This savage songThis Savage Song
Author : Victoria Schwab
Series : Monsters Of Verity
Genres : Fantasy, Science fiction, Young Adult
Publication : July 5th 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Synopsis : There’s no such thing as safe.

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.

August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s secret weapon.

Their city is divided.

Their city is crumbling.

Kate and August are the only two who see both sides, the only two who could do something.

But how do you decide to be a hero or a villain when it’s hard to tell which is which?

polka dots bar small

It’s one of my most anticipated releases for 2016 and it didn’t disappoint !!! I knew I would like it and I was right !

Plot

In V city, violence breeds monsters. Corsai, Malchai and the most dangerous ones, Sunai. The city is divided in two parts, and security is something you have to pay for.
The story is told from two very different POV; first Kate, who is Harker’s daughter. Harker is ruling North City. Kate is trying her best to be just like her father, to make him proud.
The second POV is August’s. He is a monster, but wants to help to keep V city as safe as possible.
They both attend the same school. They couldn’t be more different. And yet, they will have to team up to survive.

I mean, most people want to escape. Get out of their heads. Out of their lives. Stories are the easiest way to do that.

Once again, Victoria Schwab did it. She crafted an amazing world, filled with flawed and well written characters !
I really really enjoyed this book ! The world she created is so unique and interesting ! It’s a story about monstrous humans and human monsters. I also think that this story is about family. I won’t say too much of course, but the way both protagonists were raised determined lots of things.

Another thing I enjoyed in this book, it’s the importance of music. Beautiful and deadly ! Let’s say that I totally get the cover meaning now ! I also had a song stuck in my mind while reading this book : Devil In A Midnight Mass by Billy Talent (here !)

Nobody gets to stay the same.

Characters

  • August is a monster. And yet, he tries his best to keep his city as safe as possible, given the situation. He is a Flynn, and truly believes in his father’s cause. He is such an interesting character ! He is so selfless, it’s almost painful to witness. He is also doing his best to be as normal as possible. He doesn’t accept what he is : different, special.
  • Kate is convinced that she needs to prove everyone that she is her father’s daughter, probably even herself. But when her path crosses August’s and is forced to team up with him, she learns a lot about herself.

I’m not gonna talk about the other characters, because I think it’s better if you read it without knowing too much about it ! I’m just gonna say that the side characters aren’t forgotten and are also important !

Sing you a song and steal your soul.

5 stars

polka dots bar small

About the author

V.e. SchwabVictoria is the product of a British mother, a Beverly Hills father, and a southern upbringing. Because of this, she has been known to say “tom-ah-toes,” “like,” and “y’all.”

She also tells stories.

She loves fairy tales, and folklore, and stories that make her wonder if the world is really as it seems.

9 thoughts on “| BOOK REVIEW | THIS SAVAGE SONG BY VICTORIA SCHWAB

  1. I will try to get my library to buy this later this year, because I am not sure to like it, but the fuss is so intense I want to see what makes the story so great. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choice of quotes! I liked the book a lot but I felt that the hype was grander than the book itself 😦 would you continue reading the series?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to see that you liked it. I’m looking forward to trying this as well. I read the synopsis a while back and it sparked my interest. It will be my first Schwab book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

