| BOOK REVIEW | HOPELESS BY COLLEEN HOOVER

HopelessHopeless
Author : Colleen Hoover
series : Hopeless
Genres : Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Publication : May 7th 2013 by Atria Books (first published December 17th 2012)

Synopsis : Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

polka dots bar small

I really enjoyed this book, even though it’s not my favorite CoHo’s book ! Maybe Someday is still my favorite !

Plot

This one is different from the ones I’ve read before. It’s more YA than New Adult, thus a little more childish. It doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it !
The plot is really great ! It’s a really original story and the characters are so well written, as always ! It’s gripping, heart wrenching and another roller coaster for my emotions !

The sky is always beautiful.Even when it’s dark or rainy or cloudy,it’s still beautiful to look at….it’ll be there no matter what…and I know it’ll always be beautiful.

It’s a really beautiful story; we witness how far one can go for love. How far you can go to protect the people you care deeply about.

The story seems mainly focused on Holder and Sky’s relationship, and what they bring to each other. But it really is about Sky’s journey.

The whole plot has blown my mind. Even though it was pretty obvious since the beginning that Dean was hiding things from Sky. But I couldn’t start to imagine how twisted things were going to be !

Holder tries his best to help Sky recover her memories. He wants to help her as a way of erasing his own mistakes.

My lack of access to the real world has been replaced completely by books, and it can’t be healthy to live in a land of happily ever afters.

I really enjoyed the humor despite the seriousness of the main topic. I know I told a few lines higher that it is more YA. But some themes are really mature and gut wrenching. I had to put the book down more than once because I was afraid of what was coming !
I also enjoyed the characters, it was really easy to connect with them.

The power of truth is really impressive ! It’s a powerful weapon, able to crush someone’s life, or help save one’s life.

Sometimes you have to choose between a bunch of wrong choices and no right ones. You just have to choose which wrong choices feels the least wrong.

Oh and can we talk about the best first not kissing kiss ever ?! It was so steamy ! And I found it somehow original !
It’s really well written, the plot is incredible and that’s not a surprise at all : Colleen Hoover manages to surprise me every time !

Characters

  • Sky isn’t your normal teenager by any means. She has grown cut off from technology and pretty much the whole outside world. She has dealt with all the difficulties life has thrown at her. She’s been through a lot and yet she’s a strong young woman. Her mind and body have found a way to protect her. She doesn’t feel anything.
  • Holder is such a swoon worthy young man ! He is also dealing with a lot, because of what happened when he was younger. He has grown up feeling guilty about things he wasn’t responsible for.

You probably faked passing out the other day, just so you could be carried in my hot, sweaty, manly arms.

5 stars

polka dots bar small

About the author

Colleen Hoover 2.I love to write and I love to give away things that I write, so follow me on my Facebook author page at facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover

6 thoughts on “| BOOK REVIEW | HOPELESS BY COLLEEN HOOVER

Leave a Reply

