| ON SCREEN | ME BEFORE YOU

me-before-you-movieMe Before You
Directed by Thea Sharrock
Released on June 3rd 2016 (US),
June 22nd 2016 (FR)

This is the movie adaptation of Jojo Moyes’ book also named Me Before You.

I have been meaning to watch this movie in a theater BUT it was really hard to find a French cinema broadcasting it.

Anyway. Me Before You was one of my favorite reads last year so of course I had to watch this movie !

The cast is amazing ! Emilia Clarke is playing Lou, this colorful and joyful young woman. She just lost her job and desperately needs a new one. She ends up hired as a caregiver for the grumpy Will Traynor, played by Sam Claflin.
Her fiancé is played by Matthew Lewis (you all remember Neville Longbottom, right ?! Well he changed. A LOT.) while her sister is played by Jenna Coleman.
I have to admit, I was afraid I wouldn’t like the movie because of the cast. Don’t get me wrong, they’re all great actors, but I was afraid I would see Danaerys Targeryen taking care of Finnick Odair, while her dear boyfriend, Neville Longbottom was too busy training to notice her. And let’s not forget her sister, the Doctor’s companion ! You get the picture, right ?
Well, I was wrong ! from the first minutes I totally forgot about the actors and only saw Lou, Will and all the other characters.

I was glad to see they were faithful the book. The most important scenes were there but they had to cut some scenes that I thought important too. Particularly one, about Lou’s past. It would have explained a part of her personality. But in the end, they didn’t change crucial  things and I’m really thankful for that. And I know a whole book cannot fit into a movie.

The soundtrack was perfectly chosen in my opinion. It enhanced the whole story and made me cry more ugly tears haha !

I really enjoyed this movie ! It was funny and quirky an heart wrenching. I laughed, I cried, and I loved every minute of it. I totally recommend this movie (and the book!) !!

 

7 thoughts on “| ON SCREEN | ME BEFORE YOU

  1. I am really sad they cut out that piece about Lou’s past as well. I felt it was so important to her growth, but otherwise they did great.
    Totally get what you meant about the cast as well. And let’s not forget that Danaery’s dad was Mr. Bates from Downton Abbey and Finnick’s Dad was Tywin Lannister. Not weird at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t watched this yet, the book left me in such a big book hangover that i’ve been putting it off. I know they left out the big part of lou’s past though, which I would love to see but the director said in an interview once they felt like for a movie they think it would of shadowed over the other big points. I can kind of see that, although for a movie to deal with two issues I reckon it would of been really hard hitting and something I would of loved to see!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

