| BOOK REVIEW | A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS

A Court Of Thorns and rosesA Court Of Thorns And Roses
Author : Sarah J. Maas
Series : A Court Of Thorns And Roses
Genres : Fantasy, Young Adult
Publication : May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Synopsis : Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

polka-dots-bar-small

Sometimes I want to kick myself. Hard. Like when I don’t buy a book because I’m afraid of the hype. And when I finally do, I realize how great the book is ! That’s the case with this book !

Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.

Plot

It’s a Beauty And The Beast retelling. It follows Feyre who is living with her father and her two sisters, Elain and Nesta. She is the only one bringing money to the family. She hunts so her family can survive. They live near the wall separating the human world from Prythian, the Fey’s realm.
One day, her world is turned upside down.

The story took its sweet time to get settled. To be honest I found the first part quite slow. But it allows us to meet properly our main character Feyre, and to fully understand her situation. To see how badly things are for her and her family.
Feyre has too many responsibilities for her age.
Somehow, the treaty, it’s like a sort of freedom for her.

Because I wouldn’t want to die alone,” I said, and my voice wobbled as I looked at Tamlin again, forcing myself to meet his stare. “Because I’d want someone to hold my hand until the end, and awhile after that.
That’s something everyone deserves, human or faerie.

When she arrives at the Spring Court, all her beliefs are shattered ! All her deepest convictions about the feys are broken into a millions little pieces. They’re not the monsters she always thought. At least not completely, and not all of them.

In the first part of the book, she’s living a life worth of a princess. But all is not pink. She can sense that so many things are hidden from her, and that some feys are really dangerous.

The second part of the book, well, the part Under The Mountain… OMG it changes the game !
Amarantha wants to torture her, to break her. What she’s making Feyre face is inhuman ! But in her suicidal mission, she will find some unexpected allies.

The plot is really amazing ! I was on the edge of my seat while reading the last part. And that ending !

Everything I love has always had a tendency to be taken away from me.

I loved the plot but the interactions between the characters are also amazing !
The world-building is good, but I want to see more of Prythian !

Characters

  • Feyre is only a human barely surviving with her family. She finds herself propulsed in a dangerous and unknown world ! She changed so much through the whole book. I enjoyed witnessing it.
    Feyre is fierce, stubborn and loyal to death.
  • Tamlin is such a sweet High Lord. So Swoon-worthy ! He is quite difficult to understand though. But when you see the whole picture, you understand why he acted that way.  Nonetheless, I must admit he kind of disappointed me Under The Mountain.
  • Lucien is a great character in my opinion ! I like him so much ! Angry and distant at first, he softens when he gets to know Feyre ! He becomes an ally !
  • Rhysand, ah Rhysand ! I don’t really know what to think of him ! I started to appreciate him, to be honest !

I love you,” he whispered, and kissed my brow. “Thorns and all.

5 stars

Overall I really loved this book ! It’s so gripping !

polka-dots-bar-small

About the author

Sarah J. MaasSarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

 

2 thoughts on “| BOOK REVIEW | A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS

  1. THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! My review for ACOTAR is all over the place just because my mind was whizzing around with excitement when I wrote it. AND WAIT TILL YOU GET TO ACOMAF! I’m writing my review for that now and OMG IT’S ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Great review! Can’t wait to see your thoughts on the rest of the series! (Go Rhysand!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

